Skip to content

Junior coaching (Beginners and Intermediates)

Update 5 September 2023

These sessions are fully booked.

If you are interested in junior coaching, please join the waiting list. We’ll be in touch with those on the list, as soon as we are able to offer more spots. We offer priority to enrolled athletes and then those on the waiting list.

About the junior sessions

Children and young people can now join sessions dedicated to coaching them! For new entrants to the sessions we accept children for this season who are aged 11 – 16 on 1 September 2023.
These sessions are fun and inclusive, where all abilities are welcome, from complete beginners to those who wish to build on their volleyball skills.

Come along and have fun, make friends and develop your skills in volleyball!

Location

Our Wednesday evening junior sessions are being held at Meadow Park School / Academy (formerly known as Whitley Academy) Abbey Road, Coventry, CV3 4BD. Please see the location details here.

Timings

The session times are on Wednesday evenings:

  • Beginners group 19:15 – 20:15
  • Intermediate group 20:15 – 21:15
  • Please note the Advanced junior sessions are for children and young people Under 18 and are available by invitation only. You should still join the waiting list if you’re interested in these sessions and you can set out your relevant experience in the form.

The dates for this year are:

Wednesday 13 September 2023
Wednesday 20 September 2023
Wednesday 27 September 2023
Wednesday 04 October 2023
Wednesday 11 October 2023
Wednesday 18 October 2023
Wednesday 25 October 2023
Wednesday 01 November 2023 – NO SESSION HALF TERM
Wednesday 08 November 2023
Wednesday 15 November 2023
Wednesday 22 November 2023
Wednesday 29 November 2023
Wednesday 06 December 2023
Wednesday 13 December 2023
Wednesday 20 December 2023 – NO SESSION XMAS
Wednesday 27 December 2023 – NO SESSION XMAS
Wednesday 03 January 2024 – NO SESSION XMAS

Wednesday 10 January 2024
Wednesday 17 January 2024
Wednesday 24 January 2024
Wednesday 31 January 2024
Wednesday 07 February 2024
Wednesday 14 February 2024 – NO SESSION HALF TERM
Wednesday 21 February 2024
Wednesday 28 February 2024
Wednesday 06 March 2024
Wednesday 13 March 2024
Wednesday 20 March 2024
Wednesday 27 March 2024 – NO SESSION EASTER
Wednesday 03 April 2024 – NO SESSION EASTER

Wednesday 10 April 2024
Wednesday 17 April 2024
Wednesday 24 April 2024
Wednesday 01 May 2024
Wednesday 08 May 2024
Wednesday 15 May 2024
Wednesday 22 May 2024
Wednesday 29 May 2024 – NO SESSION HALF TERM
Wednesday 05 June 2024
Wednesday 12 June 2024
Wednesday 19 June 2024
Wednesday 26 June 2024
Wednesday 03 July 2024
Wednesday 10 July 2024

Progression path for juniors

Beginners โ†’ Intermediates โ†’ Advanced

How to start

โ†’ You can only book these sessions in blocks and we’re currently unable to offer taster sessions.

๐Ÿ‘‰ When booking please book in parent/carer name. Include in the โ€œAdditional Informationโ€ section the name and age of the junior player.

What to pack and what to wear:

  • Full water bottle which should be labelled or highly distinguishable in order to avoid any confusion
  • Sweat/fitness towel, foam roller, resistance band, joint supports or any other equipment you need for warm up/cool down or during activities.
  • Wear a normal PE kit (T-shirt & shorts or leggings) plus ideally a pair of kneepads. These need to be fabric kneepads, so they donโ€™t mark the floors (so not skateboard hard plastic style ones). Lots of the kids have these:

๐Ÿ’ช Under 18 and would like to train at a competitive level?
Our National Volleyball League (NVL) teams accept juniors who are experienced in competitive volleyball and are able to train at a higher level. Read all about our NVL teams training.

For those with advanced abilities but who are not ready yet to compete in the NVL, we have the Advanced Juniors / U18s session. This is by invitation only and you should still join the waiting list setting out details of your previous playing experience and standard.

Junior FAQs

Is prior experience necessary?ย No! Many of our players hadnโ€™t played volleyball before coming to our sessions. We cater for ages 11 – 16 in our beginner sessions and abilities ranging from complete beginners through to players training with National League teams through our intermediate and advanced sessions. The sessions will be tailored to the differing abilities with different drills tailored to this.

Are the sessions coached?  Yes, we will have coaches on hand who will set up engaging routines and provide feedback in order for you to progress your game.

Are we going to play games?  There will be mainly coached drills in order to learn skills/footwork and develop technique but there will definitely be some match play. 

Do I need any special equipment? Any sports kit is suitable to wear, and the players just need indoor trainers. We do suggest that players purchase a set of kneepads as itโ€™s helpful for when we do defence drills (they need to be fabric rather than hard skateboarding style), but these are not essential. Make sure you bring your own distinctive or marked full water bottle as during the Covid restrictions water fountains at venues may be out of service.

Can I sign up mid-term? You can join the waiting list at any time. Our sessions run in a 12 week block for registration/organisation but each session stands alone on different skills. If you join mid-term you will only pay for the remaining sessions in the block. This being said, our sessions are quite popular, and it’s unlikely there will be space to join at a later time. When there are spaces available, we’ll reach out to those on the waiting list to offer them a spot.

Can parents/carers stay and watch?  Yes – that’s no problem! Please check in with the coach on arrival and they will show you where you can watch from (most of our venues have a viewing gallery). We ask that you do not take photos or videos of the sessions without the prior approval of the coach for safeguarding reasons.

How do I book? We will send booking details to those on the waiting list first. That will be done by email and it will contain a link to the session block booking. From there, you will be able to make payment online. If you have any questions before booking use the Contact Us function at the bottom of this site or get in touch via our Facebook or Instagram pages.